Located just off Brooklyn’s Atlantic Avenue stand two of the oldest churches in East New York: St. Malachy (1854) and St. Michael (1860). On Sunday, January 24, the St. Michael’s and St. Malachy’s joint parish community celebrated the 150th Anniversary of St. Michael’s Church during the 11:00 am Mass.
Auxiliary Bishop of Brooklyn, Most Rev. Octavio Cisneros, was the main celebrant for the Holy Mass in which he was joined by concelebrating Capuchin friars who had served at St. Michael’s parish in the past. Since 2002, IVE priests of our Religious Family have been blessed to continue serving the faithful of the parish community. Fr. Gaston Giacinti, IVE, the current parochial vicar, was also present for this anniversary celebration.
This beautiful church in the middle of Brooklyn was packed. The Dominican sisters who have been teaching at St. Michael’s School for many years joined the congregation for this historic moment. Our sisters, who began working in the sacristy at St. Michael’s in 2003 and in the catechism program in 2004, were also present. At the offertory the parishioners offered a frame with the 53 names of the German immigrants who originally requested the founding and building of the church. Continuing in this tradition, St. Michael’s is proud to serve the vibrant Catholic immigrant community of today.
The celebration continued after Mass with lunch in the school gym, adorned with historic photographs. Many long-time parishioners came and enjoyed the celebration.
We give thanks to our Lord and our Lady for the many blessings that they have bestowed upon St. Michael’s Church and School over the past 150 years. May our Blessed Mother continue to obtain many blessings for the parishioners and students of St. Michael’s for many years to come.